The Comedic Factor

Indulge and Embrace the Ambiance of What I Think is Hilarious!

According to “The Color Purple” Actress Rae Dawn Chong, Oprah “Would’ve been a Field N*****” #SeriousEpicFailChong

I’m back!!!!! Oh, how I have missed thee so much! I apologize for the long hiatus. It has been a busy three months. I moved to a new place. I went on a few trips. It’s been hella busy at work and I’ve entered into a new relationship. Yay me! Oh and shout outs to my boo. He’s super supportive of me and my writing.  Love you babe! Ok.. I’m digressing lol.

Any who, what ratchetness has compelled me to come out of hiatus?! Well, let me tell you! So, I’m on Facebook today and I see an article from Madamenoire.com (I love Madamenoire.com by the way.) called ‘She Would’ve Been A Field N****r:’ ‘The Color Purple’ Actress Goes On Bitter, Inappropriate Rant About Oprah.”

Then I see a picture of the infamous Rae Dawn Chong.

Photo Credit: celebgreat.com

Rae Dawn Chong
Photo Credit: celebgreat.com

Now, I just knew, after reading that headline, that Ms. Irrelevant-“My name ain’t Squeak, it’s Mary Agnes”- Rae Dawn Chong must be crazy as all hell to come out her mouth like that?! Oh my goodness! So, I had to read it! Then I googled more information about it and it was on TMZ.com and HuffingtonPost.com. It was everywhere.

So here’s the scoop, Ms. Chong did an interview with Matty P’s Happy Hour Radio. During the interview, Ms. Chong was asked about her relationship with Oprah and here is where the buffoonery and coonery begin.

According to Madamenoire.com and Ms. Irrelevant Rae Dawn Chong said this:

“She invited me to come to her show when I starred in ‘Commando’ and she just wasn’t having me. She’s competitive. She didn’t like me. She just wasn’t having me. They put me in a really crappy hotel. Then, I was backstage and she never called me on stage and I was like, ‘You know what? F*** you b***h,”
-Rae Dawn Chong
After reading that, I was like dang! Ms. Chong then proceeded to say,

“Big shock to the world, Oprah is all about Oprah.” “I can say she’s done great things for women of color, women of a certain size… but does that mean she’s a great person?”

But wait… here is the kicker. Rae Dawn decides that she wants to go all the way in and throw Oprah all the shade she possibly can by commenting on Oprah’s physical appearance! Girl no you did not!

According to the interview, Rae Dawn goes on to say,

“You kind of gotta look at and her go, ‘Hello, hats off. You have done an amazing thing. You have actually shifted the DNA of the universe.’ In terms of thinking and power structure, if you look at the way [Oprah] looks, she looks like 60 years ago, she would have been a house keeper luckily. She would have not been a house n**ger she would have been a field n**ger. I have to stop and say this woman is a miracle. She changed our thinking off a woman of a certain size and a certain shade.”

Oh my goodness…! It’s one thing for Rae Dawn to comment on the fact that while her and Oprah were on the set of “The Color Purple” that Oprah was a different person, maybe even a nicer person then she is currently today, but I feel she crossed the line when she started talking about Oprah’s physical appearance.

If I could talk to Irrelevant Rae Dawn Chong right now, this is what I would say….

“First of all,  Ms. Rae Dawn Chong, you don’t know WHAT Oprah would’ve have been doing 60 years ago in terms of her career.  Secondly,  why did you have to bring up the fact that Oprah would’ve been a field slave and not a house slave during slavery? What relevance does that have to the question that they asked you?”

They asked you, “What is your relationship with Oprah Winfrey?” No one cares that Oprah might have been a field slave back in the day. Are we in the year 1842? The last time I checked we weren’t. It’s 2013 and neither Oprah, you, or myself are currently slaves.  The last time I checked, I wasn’t picking cotton and neither was Oprah, so that comment was unnecessary and uncalled for and since you didn’t stick to the topic at hand, it’s #TOTALEpicFailForYou!

Ms. Rae Dawn Chong you need to take not one but,  eighteen seats somewhere. Like every time you attempt to open your mouth,  please take seat and stop yourself from speaking.”

Ok..I’m done lol.

Oh and for those of you who are unaware of Ms. Chong’s reference to “House Slaves” and “Field Slaves,” I’ll briefly explain it to you. So, back in slavery days here in the United States,  it was common knowledge that many darker-skinned African American slaves were subjected to working out in the fields, picking cotton on the plantation. While on the other hand, many lighter-skinned African Americans slaves  were subjected to working as “House Slaves” or working inside of the Plantation’s main house. For example, many house slaves would cook, clean, wash clothes and do less strenuous work as opposed to field slaves.  Many house slaves thought that they were better off economically, than field slaves because of the color of their skin. This concept caused much tension among all slaves on the plantation.

But, the reason why I find what Rae Dawn said to be offensive and rude is because basically, this basic woman is saying that if the tables were turned and if her and Oprah were slaves in back in slavery times, Oprah would be a field slave and Ms. Irrelevant Rae Dawn Chong would be a house slave because she is a light-skinned black woman.  Rae Dawn is also implying that if times hadn’t changed, then  Oprah would not be as successful as she is today and Rae Dawn would be more successful than Oprah because of the color of her skin.

So, I am officially done with her.

Ms. Rae Dawn Chong then proceeds to talk about Oprah’s insecurities which again has no relevance to what they initial asked her to answer.  According to the interview Ms. Chong says,

“Shes so enormously insecure. If you wanna distill Oprah Winfrey down to like her most basic components. She wants to be beautiful.”

“Imagine being [Oprah]. She has all of the world. All the power in the world … and she only wants something that is only chemical, purely impossible.”

Moral of this blog post, haters will always hate and Rae Dawn Chong you are a straight hater. Get your life together please.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2013 by in 4 Mucks! and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow The Comedic Factor and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

Categories

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blogs I Follow

#KreativeFortune

robwriter2000

Writer writes on everything...

The Seahorse Grill and Robbie's Kitchen

Executive Chef Robbie Joseph brings more than 35 years of culinary experience to his Montego Bay, Jamaica based restaurants and bars: THE SEAHORSE GRILL and ROBBIES KITCHEN. Specializing in fresh seafood, steaks, pastas, local Jamaican favourites and world class, gobal cuisine with a twist of west indian flare. Combine this simply great food with the casual elegant ambiance of both restaurants and you have an experience you won't soon forget!!!

The Dimwit Diary

A humorous website of assorted madness

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

